People

Primary Faculty

 

A

Hani Awad

Awad, Hani

Professor of Biomedical Engineering; Professor of Orthopaedics
hani_awad@urmc.rochester.edu | (585) 273-5268
1-8543 Medical Center
Website

Interests: Musculoskeletal Tissue Engineering

B

Danielle Benoit

Benoit, Danielle

Associate Professor of Biomedical Engineering; Associate Professor of Chemical Engineering
Center for Musculoskeletal Research
UR Stem Cell and Regenerative Medicine Institute

benoit@bme.rochester.edu | (585) 273-2698
308 Goergen Hall
Website

Interests: Therapeutic Biomaterials

Edward Brown

Brown III, Edward

Associate Professor of Biomedical Engineering
James P. Wilmot Cancer Center

edward_brown@urmc.rochester.edu | (585) 273-5918
5-7224A Medical Center
Website

Interests: Multiphoton Laser Scanning Microscopy, novel in vivo imaging and measurement techniques, tumor biology, angiogenesis

Mark Buckley

Buckley, Mark

Assistant Professor of Biomedical Engineering
mark.buckley@rochester.edu | (585) 276-4195
Website

Interests: Viscoelasticity in soft biological tissues; Soft tissue aging, disease and repair

C

Laurel Carney

Carney, Laurel H.

Professor of Biomedical Engineering; Professor of Neurobiology and Anatomy
Center for Navigation and Communication Sciences

laurel.carney@rochester.edu | (585) 276-3948
Medical Center
Website

Interests: Auditory neuroscience; Neurophysiological, behavioral, and computational studies of hearing; Signal processing for hearing aids

Regine Choe

Choe, Regine

Assistant Professor of Biomedical Engineering
regine_choe@urmc.rochester.edu | (585) 273-4374
MC 5-7233A Med Center
Website

Interests: Diffuse optics for in vivo cancer detection, diagnosis and therapy monitoring

D

Diane Dalecki

Dalecki, Diane

Chair, Department of Biomedical Engineering
Distinguished Professor of Biomedical Engineering
Professor of Biomedical Engineering; Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering
Director, Rochester Center for Biomedical Ultrasound

diane.dalecki@rochester.edu | (585) 275-7378
210A Goergen Hall
Website

Interests: Biomedical ultrasound, acoustics, lithotripsy, biological effects of ultrasound.

G

Greg Gdowski

Gdowski, Greg T.

Associate Professor of Biomedical Engineering
Executive Director, Center for Medical Technology & Innovation

ggdowski@ur.rochester.edu | (585) 275-2580
310 Robert B. Goergen Hall
Website

Interests: Teaching Area — The process of commercialization of medical technologies from identifying unmet clinical needs to the design, fabrication, marketing, regulatory, and intellectual property aspects of creating medical technologies and devices

K

Kuo_headshot

Kuo, Catherine K.

Associate Professor of Biomedical Engineering
Associate Professor of Orthopaedics
Center for Musculoskeletal Research
Genetics, Development and Stem Cells Program

Catherine.K.Kuo@rochester.edu | (585) 275-2312
215 Robert B. Goergen Hall
Website

Interests: Tissue engineering ; Orthopaedics; Stem cells; Developmental biology ; Mechanobiology ; Biomaterials

L

ed

Lalor, Edmund

Associate Professor of Biomedical Engineering, Associate Professor of Neuroscience
Edmund_Lalor@urmc.rochester.edu | (585) 275-3077
G9609 SMD  (Dept. of Neuroscience)
Website

Interests: Human sensory neurophysiology; Brain-computer interfacing; Computational neuroscience; Neural encoding of natural sounds; Sensory processing in psychiatric and developmental disorders

Amy Lerner

Lerner, Amy L.

Associate Professor of Biomedical Engineering; Associate Professor of Mechanical Engineering
Academic Director, Center for Medical Technology & Innovation

amy.lerner@rochester.edu | (585) 275-7847
307 Goergen Hall
Website

Interests: Orthopaedic biomechanics, medical image-based finite element modeling, knee biomechanics, medical device design, cornea mechanics

Anne Luebke

Luebke, Anne E.

Associate Professor of Biomedical Engineering; Associate Professor of Neurobiology and Anatomy
anne_luebke@urmc.rochester.edu | (585) 273-1635
6-8547 Medical Center
Website

Interests: Role of cochlear outer hair cells in hearing and hearing loss, at both the molecular and systems levels

M

UR photo

Maddox, Ross

Assistant Professor of Biomedical Engineering, Assistant Professor of Neuroscience
ross.maddox@rochester.edu | (585) 275-1835
G9607 SMD  (Dept. of Neuroscience)
Website

Interests: Auditory neuroscience; Audio-visual integration; Selective attention; Development of electroencephalography paradigms for research and diagnosis

Stephen McAleavey

McAleavey, Stephen

Associate Professor of Biomedical Engineering; Associate Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering
Rochester Center for Biomedical Ultrasound

stephen.mcaleavey@rochester.edu | (585) 275-7768
309 Goergen Hall
Website

Interests: Development of novel, clinically applicable ultrasound imaging techniques

James McGrath

McGrath, James

Professor of Biomedical Engineering
james.mcgrath@rochester.edu | (585) 273-5489
306 Goergen Hall
Website

Interests: Cell motility; Quantitative light microscopy

N

UR photo

Nam, Jong-Hoon

Associate Professor of Biomedical Engineering; Associate Professor of Mechanical Engineering
jong-hoon.nam@rochester.edu | (585) 273-4555
212 Hopeman
Website

Interests: Biophysics of inner ear sensory cells; Cell mechanics

S

Scott Seidman

Seidman, Scott

Associate Professor of Biomedical Engineering; Associate Professor of Neurobiology and Anatomy
Center for Visual Science

scott_seidman@urmc.rochester.edu | (585) 273-2122
6-8543 Medical Center
Website

Interests: Vestibular systems, motor learning, physiological models, multi-sensory integration

W

Richard E. Waugh

Waugh, Richard E.

Professor of Biomedical Engineering; Professor of Biochemistry & Biophysics; Professor of Pharmacology & Physiology
waugh@bme.rochester.edu | (585) 275-3768
218 Robert B. Goergen Hall
Website

Interests: Cell Adhesion, Mechanical and thermodynamic properties of biological membranes; cellular mechanics and function of cytoskeletal proteins